LARS Symptoms Post-Ileostomy Reversal: Seeking Advice and Experiences

Replies
Views
amymariefred
Apr 26, 2024 9:30 pm

I hate that I can't search without a premium membership, so sorry if this has already been answered.

I'm 6 weeks post-op ileostomy reversal, no chemo or radiation. I found out recently from my surgeon I only have 5 cm of my rectum remaining. Surprise to me! Anyway, does the severity/frequency of LARS symptoms depend on how much rectum remains? I'm no longer incontinent but have urgency, frequent trips to the toilet, and long sits sometimes (feels like more needs to come out but it doesn't). I get hemorrhoids sometimes and have tried witch hazel and zinc ointment.

My main concern is going back to work in 2 weeks. I don't have a nearby restroom for urgency. I'm a teacher and nervous. I made the mistake of going on a LARS Facebook group, and it seems a lot of people are suffering more than me, and now I had to leave the group because it made me more fearful. Do these symptoms stay with you forever? Does it get better? What are your experiences?

Thanks so much, Amy

Beachboy
Apr 27, 2024 4:11 am

Sorry to read about your bowel trouble.

It does take time for your body to adjust and recover from surgery. At 6 weeks, you're still in the healing stage. Have you had a rectal competence test? If not, you might consider it.

Hate to say the word... Depends. But with restrooms at work far away, you might have to resort to that until your bowel slowly returns to normal function.

Please continue to post your progress. It will help many Ostomates.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 33,853 members. Get inside and you will see.

It's not all about ostomy. Everything is being discussed.

Many come here for advice or to give advice 🗣, others have found good friends 🤗, and there are also those who have found love 💓. Most of all, people are honest and truly care.