Is It Normal for Stoma Size to Change After Surgery?

Replies
Views
eab3691
Jul 14, 2024 8:40 am

I've had my stoma for almost 2 months now. I've noticed it shrink slightly a few weeks after surgery, but in the last 2 weeks, it has puffed out larger a bit more. Is this normal? I've got an appointment with the surgeon for a follow-up this coming Tuesday and will ask him, but in the meantime, is this normal?

Rodr24
Jul 14, 2024 12:12 pm

At two months, you are still very new to this and just starting to learn about your stoma... I'm four months into my colostomy now and I'm still learning.

Here's what I can tell you about size. When it was brand new, my stoma was so big that a bag barely fit even when cut to maximum size. Now it's about 32mm. The diameter shrank until it got to this size and hasn't changed from there.

That said, how far it sticks out above the skin changes almost daily. Sometimes it pokes out over an inch, other times it gets almost level with my skin. Sometimes it is at an angle, high on one side, low on the other. I have come to believe that this is related to how busy my colon is near the stoma, but I can't be certain.

As I understand it, there will be a natural variation in how much your stoma sticks out. If you're talking about diameter, I'm not sure what might cause that.

If there's no pain, fever, or other symptoms, you're probably safe to just discuss it on Tuesday - but I'd put in a call to my surgeon just to be sure.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.