Seeking Advice - Needing a Reliable Appliance for Active Lifestyle

Replies
Views
writerman
Feb 04, 2023 5:26 am

This is what I need to solve. I have been using Hollister 3238 appliances for many years. Recently, within the time period of three years, the seal method the factory uses has changed. When I used to get two days' use out of one appliance application, I can no longer do this. If I put on a fresh appliance at night at eight o'clock, for instance, by morning it is leaking. I wash and clean with hot water, thoroughly dry the area, and then apply the appliance. I always follow instructions. Mine is a complete colectomy. Where the appliance leaks is always in the same place, between the seal and the plastic of the appliance, where apparently the heat of my body simply lifts the seal away from the plastic. I am very active, probably more active than most users. I run, exercise, work, and walk the dog. I was told this should not matter to the length of use by my ostomy nurse. My ostomy nurse also tells me people always get four days' use out of each application, which for me has never happened and is ludicrous. I need an eight to nine-inch appliance, one-piece system only, with or without belting system, for a 1 1/8 opening. I need instructions for use, and to have one application last at least two days. I am told there are systems out there that can do this. I am trying to find that system. Do you know of any products at all that would fit this bill? I am neither concave nor convex, my stoma area is flat, and my stoma itself extends off my right side about an inch. I was told by my ostomy nurse it was a 'picture-perfect' stoma, and should be able to accommodate an appliance not leaking perfectly. And yet here I am. This situation is very distressing. Can you help? Thanks.

AlexT
Feb 04, 2023 6:00 am