Help please

Replies
Views
buster
Sep 09, 2011 12:33 am
Hi im new to this but i have a slight problem...... Ive had a eliostomy for 13 years but i still have an stump left incase i could have it all reversed. .ive now found out i cant as i still have colitis in the stump, My doctor told me i would need this removed within 10 years of my opp as the stump will start dieing off as there is no nurishment going through it. I am now worried sick as its been 13 years and every time i talk to someone about this they tell me there is no rush so as you can see im very confused with the whole thing, So please can someone help me out With thanks ...

mitdad
Sep 09, 2011 2:30 am
Removing the rectal stump was the last of my 23 surgeries and it was the best thing to do to stop urethral-rectal fistulas which were a constant problem. You have a chance it seems to get rid of your remaining disease. As long as you have UC or Crohn's the chances of it recurring elsewhere is great. It will take a while to heal...usually up to a few months. My first surgery was at 11 and last at 20. No problems for 40 years until a stoma revision due to wear and tear. Things will work out for you. Only positive thoughts.. Barry
Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

buster
Sep 09, 2011 9:28 am
Thank you Barry im glad there are good people who i can talk to who know what they are talking about as they have gone through it all Paul.
lemon
Sep 11, 2011 5:20 am