How Long Does It Take for an Ileostomy Reversal?

Replies
Views
nandezalee
Jun 02, 2024 1:18 am

Hey guys, I'm new to this. It's barely 2 weeks since I had an ileostomy done, and my doctor told me it's reversible. Does anyone know how long it takes for it to happen? I'm scared, to be honest, because I feel like I will hurt it or my bag will pop 😫😫

aTraveler
Jun 02, 2024 4:05 am

Times vary, you need to talk with your surgeon. If the original surgery was difficult, it will take longer. Your surgeon knows the specifics of your case. If you want a successful reversal, you need to manage your ostomy.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

Beachboy
Jun 02, 2024 4:15 am

Well... if you're a good candidate for reversal, 4 to 6 months is the usual time frame. You could get one later than that if your situation requires it.

A stoma is pretty tough. A mild bump won't hurt it. Just be careful the first couple of months... until your mind always knows it's there.

Bags are tough, unlikely you'll pop it. When I first got my colostomy, I was so careful around my stoma. Wouldn't get it wet. Was cautious touching the bag and wafer.

Now it's 17 months since my surgery. I take the wafer and bag off and shower with the stoma hanging out. Water and soap won't hurt it. But... do NOT use soap that contains fragrance, lotions, or dyes. Those chemicals will interfere with wafer adhesive. I use Cetaphil soap.