Ileostomy Care - Managing Pancaking and Trusting in Heat

Replies
Views
bethannnye
Aug 17, 2024 2:57 am

Hi. I'm still learning. What is pancaking?

What is trusting?

During humid weather with high temperatures or just high temperatures, wafers need to be changed 1-3 times a day, whereas normally the wafers were working for 2-4 days at a time. Does this always happen with heat?

Axl
Aug 17, 2024 9:02 am

Hello bethannnye

There are a few who have mentioned a loss of adhesion in the heat, but for me, it makes no difference.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

warrior
Aug 17, 2024 10:52 am

Hi and welcome. Learning, you will be for sure. Pancaking is having a bulk amount of poop around your stoma that doesn't move. It just sits and grows... Usually, sitting a lot causes it, but also a lack of fluids. You were told to hydrate, correct?

Never heard the term "trusting" when speaking of stomas or appliances. Please explain.

If you think heat is causing the appliance to lose its adhesion, you might want to try a belt and extenders (referred to as C strips). Heat should not affect a quality appliance. Are you changing frequently due to leaks? Or dislodging the appliance?

What are you using to hold the appliance on?

If you scroll down, you will see a thread topic already in progress on pancaking issues. Check it out.

Justbreathe
Aug 17, 2024 2:35 pm