Waking and worrying about a leak, does it ever go away?

Replies
Views
Sophie96
Mar 13, 2013 11:26 am
Im still relatively new to having an ostomy, only had it since June! I still find myself waking up every day and the first thought that comes to my mind is have i had a leak? And those first few seconds of the day are always a panic untill i realize i havent (or have in some cases). I just want to know from those of you who have had thier ostomy longer, does that morning panic ever go away? Thanks

Mrs.A
Mar 13, 2013 12:09 pm
Hi Sophie, Yes, I hardly ever question the security of how well my pouch worked. I guess it comes with time. A leak is a mess as we all know and no-one likes when it happens, but once you have found a pouch that works under normal daily life and routine your worry will lessen. Sure, it may happen again,but prepare for if it does by having the things you think you will need to get the job cleaned up as quickly and cleanly as possible all together and ready to go. Most of us females have an emergency kit for when we travel, so why not have an emergency kit put aside too for a leak in bed. Maybe you can be the one who post a blog about what you would put in this emergency supply. Have a great day.
Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

Primeboy
Mar 14, 2013 3:11 am