8 Weeks Post-Op from Ostomy Surgery - Seeking Tips and Advice

Replies
Views
BSUWOMAN45
May 16, 2024 6:49 pm

Hey guys,
I'm 8 weeks post-op from ostomy surgery due to a bowel obstruction. I also have spina bifida, so I am in a wheelchair dealing with a colostomy. It's been going well so far, but I am still learning how it all works and trying to get a feel for if it will ever be on a normal schedule. Any tips or tricks? Thanks.

Mysterious Mose
May 16, 2024 7:23 pm

I have an ileostomy, so I am not an expert on colostomies. Nor can I relate to being in a wheelchair, other than intellectually. I do believe that regularity of schedule with a colostomy depends on where it is. The farther along in the colon, the better, I think. That way, it gives stool a chance to form and compact in a manner that we ileostomates can only envy. Many, if not most, people with a colostomy get to the point where they only have to empty their bag once a day, or less. Whereas, those of us with an ileostomy are looking at anywhere from 5 to 12 times a day. But like I said, I am not the best person for advice on a colostomy. I just want to say that things usually will settle down after the first 3-4 months, maybe a little longer. They usually do. If you are not having problems with leaks and soreness, you are in a good place, ostomy-wise, I would say. The first few months are the hardest. Your system needs time to adjust to the new you.

And welcome to MaO! Lots of fine people here with lots and lots of different experiences. I hope you are able to stick around. One of the first things you will learn is that we are all different here. But, there are people here that can relate to being in a wheelchair and dealing with an ostomy. We come in all manner of situations. :-)

Daniel

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.