How Often Should I Change My Ileostomy Pouch?

Replies
Views
hangingin
Jun 08, 2024 4:55 pm

Hi all,

May I ask those of you with ileostomies to let me know how often you change your pouch? I'm new to this world, but it seems to me as if my output is fairly consistent, and some days I can go through two or three. Trying to slow it down with chewable Metamucil gummies. Thanks in advance.

AlexT
Jun 08, 2024 6:23 pm

Are you using a drainable bag? I can't imagine having to go through multiple bag changes a day. Not only would it get very expensive, it would be hard on your skin. If you're having to actually change your system that often, you may need to try other brands to get a better seal.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

Justbreathe
Jun 08, 2024 7:02 pm

Every other day... in the early a.m. when the stoma is still sleeping and I am not!

Mysterious Mose
Jun 08, 2024 7:38 pm

Every 7 to 8 days. If you want to slow down and thicken your output, that can be done with various foods, like potatoes or smashed cauliflower and others. Personally, I take 2 mg of loperamide about 2 hours before bedtime. I empty my bag 5-7 times a day, down from 10-12.

Daniel

Hisbiscus
Jun 08, 2024 8:44 pm

I do mine daily just because that's me and I sweat easily. I feel cleaner, etc. I could go 2 days if I wanted to.