Struggling with Barrier Adhesion for Newcomers

Replies
Views
acarcher
Jun 11, 2024 9:58 am

I'm new to this world as of May 13, 2024. I'm having trouble finding a barrier or hack to adhere to my skin. Some advice, please πŸ™πŸΎ

AlexT
Jun 11, 2024 10:29 am

What are you using now? It's all a learning curve; things will get better. Your stoma is still adjusting to its final size, so what size it was last week may not be what it is now.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

warrior
Jun 11, 2024 12:49 pm

Welcome. Good to have you. No worries. Others will advise.

What Alex said is true.

You want a barrier ring that sticks. First, remember, the skin must be dry to apply the ring.

Some use a hair dryer, lightly warming the area and the seal itself makes it more sticky. Did you know this? Try that.

The moldable ring I have success with is the Cohesive made by Eakin. Item number 839002. Don't overstretch it.

There are varying views on applying it: either to the skin first or the base plate first.

I did the former. It did not work well. The latter is better for me and works at sealing.

Do you know about mounting base plate belts? Use one.

Do you also know about sprays or wipes to remove your appliance without harm to your skin?

I was using the Brava protective seal, item 12039, for the longest time and decided to change since it was hard material, hard to form. It leaked often.