Stoma Retraction and Skin Irritation Concerns

Replies
Views
Moan-A
Jul 20, 2024 1:25 am

Hi everyone
I'm a newbie to this site. I come from South Australia and I was released from the hospital 4 days ago. Since then, I've had the home care nurse check out my stoma and how I'm coping with attaching it. This is not my concern; however, I'm really hoping someone can help me. My stoma this morning, after releasing my bag and cleaning the site, has shown it has retracted into my belly. When I came from the hospital, it was like one small plum and one small grape. I did have an opening on one of the sides, but my stoma nurse said it would close up on its own. I'm wondering if the shrinkage is normal. Any advice appreciated. My husband wants me to ring the hospital, but I'm hoping I don't need to yet.
Also, I have a rather red ring surrounding the stoma where the bag has come off. Am I fitting it high enough to the stoma or not, and/or am I applying too much pressure on the bag to seal it on my skin? I am using a barrier cream on my clean skin away from the stoma itself, plus dusting powder as shown on the stoma before application.

Thanks, Moan-A

AlexT
Jul 20, 2024 2:27 am

You could try a convex bag or convex barrier ring. The redness could be a few things: 1) irritation from the sticky stuff, 2) output getting onto the skin, 3) the hole on your bag/wafer is too tight on your stoma.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.