Side Sleeping with an Ileostomy - Seeking Leak Solutions

Replies
Views
PistolPeets
Aug 03, 2024 10:48 pm

Hello all! I'm new to the community. This looks like a great place for advice and the people seem great!

I had my ileostomy 5 weeks ago so I'm still very new to this all. I've always been a side sleeper, but 95% of the time I'm sleeping on my side, I wake up to a mess. I don't sleep well on my back, but I have an adjustable base bed so I can incline it like a hospital bed which does allow me a little sleep, but I sleep far better on my sides.

The equipment I've been using has varied, and I haven't had much success with anything during the night yet. During the day it's fine though. I got some samples from Coloplast and Hollister. I have a crease in my abdomen around my stoma since my surgery so I require convex rings and skin barriers/appliances per my ostomy nurses. I've tried the 2-piece Hollister convex barriers, the 2-piece Coloplast convex barriers, and convex rings from both companies, as well as 1-piece appliances from both companies. I always wear a belt 24/7 to help keep things secure. My output doesn't seem to slow down at night and I get up every 2 to 3 hours to empty, mostly very soft/liquid, usually 0.2L - 0.3L as measured by the Coloplast high output bags.

I'm looking for advice here. Is this just an equipment issue? My output seems to be very acidic so I'm wondering if sleeping on my side causes the stool to lay on the ring/barrier and eat away at it until it leaks. No leaks when sleeping on my back while my bed is adjusted up.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you!

Josh

w30bob
Aug 03, 2024 11:53 pm

Hi J,