Is It Normal to Have Reduced Sperm Production After Surgery?

Replies
Views
eab3691
Aug 22, 2024 10:12 pm

I had gut surgery and a colostomy bag put on this past May. I'll go back in February for a reversal. Since my surgery, my sexual desire and ability to get erect hasn't really changed, but although I can orgasm, there's little to no sperm coming from my orgasm since the surgery. Is this normal? Will it ever go back to normal?

w30bob
Aug 23, 2024 2:29 am

Hi e,

What type of ostomy exactly did you get? You say "colostomy bag," but many people use that term as a catch-all phrase for all types of ostomies. I ask because having a dry orgasm as a result of a colostomy or ileostomy is very rare. It's more common with a urostomy... and it's called a retrograde ejaculation. I'm no expert on the subject, but I've read it's caused by nerve damage done during your ostomy operation. I'd be talking to both my surgeon and my gastroenterologist about this to see what can be done. I really don't know if it's correctable... or even if that's what you've got going on. But most likely they could find out. Sorry I can't be of more help.

;O)

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

Beachboy
Aug 23, 2024 5:09 am

Well... at least you got 1 out of 2. After my medical adventure, I have...0. It is disquieting. Mine is due to nerve damage during extensive pelvic surgery. I also got a permanent colostomy as a bonus.

Past Member