New here!

Replies
Views
kurly
Jul 01, 2013 9:48 pm
Hi everyone,  I'm still learning how to navigate around this site. I've actually never been very active with on-line support, or any support for that matter. I've always dealt with chronic illness by putting on a brave face and a smile but after 40 years I'm spent so here I am.   I'm pretty reserved and quiet around people I don't know.  I've had an ileostomy for 6 six years (and still hate the little f***er).  Diagnosed with UC in 1976. J-pouch in 1999 after years of being steroid dependent and horrible flare-ups.  Chronic pouchitis until emergency surgery in 2007 for pelvic abscesses.  The UC is "cured" but then there is a whole different set of issues to deal with.  In spite of all that I have met alot of my goals over the past 40 years.  I have 2 children and a small grandson who is the greatest love of my life.  I was a healthcare worker for 20 years but have been unable to work for the past year. Frequent obstructions and high output is keeping me close to home.  I guess I'm looking for a new purpose, a way to re-invent myself but I'm not sure what I want to be when i grow up; or what I can be. Time to reach out.  Anyways, just want to connect with others who have traveled the same road.  Share some laughs, maybe a few tears.  

Is swearing allowed on this site??  I swear.  A lot.  Only around grown-ups though.

g
mild_mannered_super_hero
Jul 02, 2013 10:57 am
hey, and welcome to the site.....

Login to see image

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.