Just a Question and looking for Answers!

Replies
Views
icejazz
Jun 03, 2011 3:54 am
So I love my kids dearly but they will alwas find the "Bag" as they say. Now, I have a 2 year old and a 4 year old. I would like to go swiming with them and go to the beach too. The problem that I am having id this bag. I am new with it but all I do is play with it. I am now using a 1 peice and I am not leaking out as much. And sleeping just is not happening. What am I doing wrong? I think I need help.

Past Member
Jun 03, 2011 12:16 pm
Hello icejazz,
I read your profile but it doesn't say whether you have an ileo or colostomy, so I don't know If I have the right info for you. I have and ileo and for swimming I use a smaller closed end pouch , 2 piece system. I carry extra bags to discard any possible output. I don't wear bikini's and try to use dark colored suits as they redirect your eyes. I usually wear a t-shirt or cover up out of the water and I would think that a mans suite would be even more concealing just by their very design. If you have a colostomy and irrigate, you shouldn't have a problem at all. When I'm in a warm climate such as the beach, or anywhere hot, my output is almost nothing, even with an ileo. Hydration is important, but in public I'm careful to avoid carbonated drinks or use "Beano or GasX" to avoid those sounds we all dread..LOL There's nothing you can't do with a little preparation. I wish you great luck and exceptional fun !!!
Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.