Understanding My Double Ostomy Setup

Replies
Views
jakelegs
Jun 02, 2017 2:48 am

Not sure what my stoma is called . I have one going to anus and one from colon. So what would one call what I have? Had no one to teach me the ins and outs. Nurse in hospital  knew very little therefore what I know was from trial and error and this site. Mine can be reversed but thinking about making it permanant. Those of you that are paralyzed as I am know the problems having to wear a diaper. I hate having the cut an oval in my one piece bag and think if I have one hole and pre made bag life will be a tiny bit better Any help this ole 75 year would love to hear from you.

vdahl
Jun 02, 2017 4:27 pm

I'm pretty new to this whole "new normal" too but, if it can be reversed, it might be a loop ostomy, right? Your description sounds a bit different though... I guess there is a (fairly rare) Double Barrel ostomy, of which I know nothing about, so I apologize if I'm simply babbeling :) Now I'm not sure if you have an colostomy or ileostomy.

I have a "loop" ileostomy so have what looks like 2 stomas but is, in fact, one... Picture a hose cut part way through with one side sewn closed and the other considered 'active'. I was cutting an oval too but after the swelling settled a bit, I am able to use the circle. I also started with the one-piece (at home) but found I like the 2 piece MUCH better for a number of reasons. I like to be able to change the bag without having to change the whole system, plus, it's easier to see what I'm doing.

Why isn't someone helping you? My home health nurses were wonderful and told me it's their job to 'coach' me through the maze of new information. Of course, once discharged I was on my own. I will say, you need to make sure that the nurses working with you need to be certified in OSTOMY care, not just wound care. I found that only 1 or 2 of probably a dozen local services actually had ostomy nurses.