Seeking Alternatives to Convatec Active Life Pouches

Replies
Views
ripock9204
Mar 11, 2021 7:20 pm

Convatec has discontinued the pouch that I've been using for the past decade or so. They've replaced the Active Life line with the Esteem, and they are just not as good. My main problem is the filter does not let any air out of the pouch, I use a closed one piece so that's sort of a big problem. I'm a police officer (wearing a vest and gun belt can be tough with an ostomy) and was so grateful when I discovered the Active Life pouches because they have been working perfectly all these years. Any suggestions on an alternative, a one piece that won't leak but will filter air out, is what I need. Thanks!

lovely
Mar 12, 2021 2:58 am

First off thank you for your service. Most suppliers have an ostomy nurse you can talk to if you call them. They will also send you samples to try. Just call several of the companies and request samples. Best wishes ans stay safe.

Gray Logo for MeetAnOstoMate

Why Join MeetAnOstoMate?

First off, this is a pretty cool site with 36,000 members who truly understand you.

It's not all about ostomy. We talk about everything.

Many come here for advice or to give advice, others have found good friends, and some have even found love. Most importantly, people here are honest and genuinely care.

🛑 Privacy is very important - we have many features that are only visible to members, ensuring a safe and secure environment for you to share and connect.

Create an account and you will be amazed by the warmth of this community.

mild_mannered_super_hero
Mar 12, 2021 11:29 am

I will second lovely's advice, another temporary solution would be to search eBay for your discontinued product as quite a few surplus Ostomy supplies turn up there, you might find enough to hold you over till you find a replacement that works. 

warrior
Mar 14, 2021 2:44 pm