Seeking Advice - Managing My Daughter's Frequent Bag Leaks

Replies
Views
amandadh90
Jul 02, 2024 10:14 am

I am brand new to this; I literally just made my account, so please be patient with me! Lol

So I have a beautiful, goofy, smart, incredible daughter who just turned 8 years old. She was born with an extremely rare birth defect (2 in 1 million babies are born with it on average); the cause is unknown. I won't bore you with all of the details, but a quick, very basic idea of how she was born is that her bladder, some bowel, and some intestine were outside of her body. She was born with no anus, no vaginal opening or external female anatomy, no urethra, a tethered spinal cord, pubic bone formed incorrectly, etc. There is so much more to it, but that's the basic important parts. She has had 5 surgeries in total; at 1.5 days old, during her very first surgery, her doctor made her adorable little stoma, and she came home with her bladder outside of her body still for 3 months. They corrected that surgically at 3 months; however, she is still wearing pull-ups now because she is incontinent. There are surgical options to change this, but she needs to be a little older and much more self-sufficient before we can explore those options. Hopefully, that very basic history makes sense and is enough to give everyone a little bit of a foundation to go off of.